Jump to main content

Wwru National Squads Announce

Wwru National Squads Announce

Following the completion of the autumn internationals against the British Army and British Police, the National Management team are pleased to announce the Women’s Senior and Development squads for the forthcoming international season.

Share this page:

Eight Pontypridd players feature in the final senior selection following an impressive performance in the Super League. Openside Flanker Esther Eckley receives her first call up to the seniors following last season in the Development squad. 18-year-old Stacey Saunders is the youngest member of the team in what is her first season in senior rugby.

UWIC have a strong contingent with Naomi Thomas, Catrin Edwards, Hayley Baxter and Kerry Jenkins being called up for another season. Becky Dando has stepped up from Under 19s and Jenny Davies and Ayla Rose from the development squad and will all be hoping to win their first senior caps during this Six Nations campaign.

Experience comes in the form of Louise Rickard, Dawn Mason and Claire Flowers. Rhian Williams returns to the squad after last season’s broken leg, which kept her out of the World Cup squad. Mel Berry retains the captaincy for this season.

Louise Rickard, who captained Wales against the British Police in December, will hope to gain her 60th cap during the Six Nations campaign. Full back Non Evans returns to the squad after last season’s break for the Commonwealth Games.

Wales play their opening game against Spain at their new home venue the Cardiff Arms Park on the 15th February.

Wales Senior Squad

Dominique Attwood (Llanelli and Carmarthen Quins) Hayley Baxter (UWIC) Melissa Berry (Swansea) Amy Broadstock (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Rebecca Dando (UWIC) Jennifer Davies (UWIC) April Dent (Pontypridd and Clifton) Esther Eckley (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Catrin Edwards (UWIC) Helen Edwards (Llanelli and Aberystwyth) Non Evans (Llanelli and Clifton) Clare Flowers (Pontypridd and Clifton) Kath Foale (Newport and Saracens) Kerry Jenkins (UWIC) Lowri Jones (North Wales and Bala) Jamie Kift (Pontypridd and Clifton) Katherine Lenaghan (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Dawn Mason (Newport and Clifton) Karen Mayze (Llanelli and Carmarthen Quins) Louise Rickard (Newport and Sudbury) Ayla Rose (UWIC) Lowena Sandercock (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Stacey Saunders (Pontypridd and Tylorstown) Awen Thomas (Llanelli and Clifton) Naomi Thomas (UWIC) Catherine Walkley (Llanelli and Aberystwyth) Rhian Williams (Swansea and Wasps) Kylie Wilson (North Wales and Bangor)

Wales Development Squad

Louise Akers (Dolgellau) Gemma Allen (Pontypridd and Tylorstown) Rachel Brown (North Wales) Ruth Copeland (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Rachel Davies (North Wales) Nicola Davies (North Wales and Caernarfon) Zoe Eaton (UWIC) Rachel Evans (Brecon) Claire Horgan (Saracens) Louise Horgan (Saracens) Kirsty Hudson (Swansea and Wasps) Nia Hughes (Pontyclun) Nicola John (UWIC) Catrina Nicolas (UWIC) Helenna Parfitt (Newport and Blaenau Gwent) Emma Phillips (Llandaff North) Amy Pryce (Newport and Clifton) Becky Prys Jones, Elaine Radcilffe (UWIC) Claire Taylor, Sian Thomas (Llanelli and Carmarthen Quins) Angharad Thomas (Newport) Kirsty Thomas (Tylorstown) Amanda Tyler Davies (Blaenau Gwent)

The Welsh Under 19s squad has also been announced following their game against Llandaff North on the 5th January. The 24-strong squad will tour Miami in February before returning to play England home and away.

Wales Under 19 Squad

Siobhan Appleby (Ruthin) Amy Baker (Cwmbran) Marie Bancroft (UWIC) Rhian Bowden (Pontypridd and Pontyclun) Becky Davies (Newport and Brecon) Amy Day (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Stephanie Dew (Swansea and Morriston) Elen Evans (North Wales and Dolgellau) Vikki Gaylard (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Aimee Jones (Swansea and Waunarlwydd) Amy Kelland (Pontypridd and Tylorstown) Jessica Kidley (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Eirlys Lougher (Llanelli and Carmarthen Quins) Paula Mullen (Pontypridd and Llandaff North) Sian Owen, (Denbigh) Michaela Reed (Swansea and Morriston) Rhian Rees (Llanelli and Llandeilo) Hannah Roberts (Newport and Torfaen) Stacey Saunders (Pontypridd and Tylorstown) Becca Stilwell, Hannah Torangi (Pontyclun) Sara Wheldon (UWIC and Caernarfon) Sophie Williams (Camberley) Gemma Williams (Pontypridd and Pontyclun)

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners