Jump to main content

Wales Reach Cup Quarters In Chile Sevens

Wales Reach Cup Quarters In Chile Sevens

Wales battled their way through to the quarter-finals of the Cup competition at the second round of the IRB World Sevens series in Chile.
Despite falling 31-12 to New Zealand, Wales beat Paraguay 17-7 and Canada 19-10 to make the last eight and set-up a quarter-final clash with Argentina.

Share this page:

The Groups
Group A: New Zealand, Wales, Canada, Paraguay.

Group B: Australia, Argentina, United States, Brazil.

Group C: South Africa, England, France, Uruguay.

Group D: Samoa, Fiji, Chile, West Indies.

Day One Results
France 7, South Africa 26
England 54, Uruguay 0
New Zealand 33, Canada 10
Wales 17, Paraguay 7
Australia 33, USA 5
Argentina 54, Brazil 7
Samoa 38, Chile 7
Fiji 57, Caribbean Selects 5
Wales 19, Canada 10
New Zealand 64, Paraguay 0
England 15, France 17
South Africa 50, Uruguay 0
Samoa 43, Caribbean Selects 0
Argentina 41, USA 5
Australia 66, Brazil 0
Fiji 76, Chile 0
Chile 17, Caribbean Selects 21
USA 54, Brazil 0
Canada 73, Paraguay 0
France 33, Uruguay 12
South Africa 7, England 12
New Zealand 31, Wales 12
Australia 0, Argentina 10
Samoa 0, Fiji 26

Quarter-final line-ups
New Zealand v Australia
Fiji v England
South Africa v Samoa
Argentina v Wales

Canada v Brazil
West Indies v Uruguay
France v Chile
USA v Paraguay

The Wales Squad
Jonathan Thomas, Robin Sowden-Taylor, Robin Collet, Michael Phillips, Shaun James, Nick Wakeley, Gareth Campan, Liam Roberts, Phil Edwards, Craig Richards, Gareth Swales, Gareth Williams.
Coach: Colin Hillman.

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners