Jump to main content

Ireland V Wales: Squad Announcement

Ireland V Wales: Squad Announcement

The National Team Coach Graham Henry has announced his squad to face Ireland in the opening game of the Lloyds TSB Six Nations Championship in Dublin on the 3rd February 2002. He announced his 22 man squad at the end of a four-day preparatory training camp held this week.

Share this page:

The Cardiff wing Craig Morgan is the one new name to rugby at this level. An injury on the summer tour of Japan prevented him from winning his first cap back in June. The other uncapped player is Newport’s Andy Marinos, although he has played in an uncapped game and has sat on the replacement bench.

At the end of a tough and very rewarding weeks work with a group of 38 players Henry said, “We spent a very profitable week together and with the players having given so much I felt that it was only right that they went away knowing exactly where they stood. Having seen all of them work at close quarters during the week and watched them playing over the last few months I am comfortable with the fact that we have selected from strength. Craig Morgan is rewarded for his return to fitness and form and around him we have a nucleus of players who have grown in confidence as the club game has upped its tempo over recent weeks.”

Kevin Morgan (Swansea)
Dafydd James (Bridgend)
Rhys Williams (Cardiff)
Craig Morgan (Cardiff)
Jamie Robinson (Cardiff)
Andy Marinos (Newport)
Iestyn Harris (Cardiff)
Stephen Jones (Llanelli)
Robert Howley (Cardiff)
Dwayne Peel (Llanelli)

Scott Quinnell (Llanelli)
Martyn Williams (Cardiff)
Nathan Budgett (Bridgend)
Brett Sinkinson (Neath)
Chris Wyatt (Llanelli)
Craig Quinnell (Cardiff)
Ian Gough (Newport)
Chris Anthony (Newport)
Duncan Jones (Neath)
Spencer John (Cardiff)
Robin McBryde (Llanelli)
Barry Williams (Neath)

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners