Jump to main content

Cardiff Squad Announced

Cardiff Squad Announced

Cardiff team to face Aberavon announced

Share this page:

Cardiff RFC have announced their squad to face top Division One side Aberavon in the Principality cup this weekend.
It shows five changes the starting line up since their last competitive game five weeks ago, when the Blue and Blacks beat Glasgow 29-12.
Welsh Internationals Craig Morgan, Iestyn Harris and Craig Quinnell are among the replacements. They are rested in line with WRU requests to use players sparingly during the period of the Six Nations.
‘We are confident that the players we have brought in can come in and do a job for us.” said club captain, and soon-to-be forwards coach Dai Young;
“Its important for us as players that we get something out of this season. We’re really confident in the squad we’ve got, and not making it to the quarter finals of the Heineken Cup has only added to our determination to do well.”
Cardiff coach Rudy Joubert does not underestimate the challenge ahead, he said,
“Aberavon’s position at the top of Division One speaks for itself and they have a great Cup tradition. We have a tough match on Saturday but have prepared well in the last month. We had a good friendly match with Rumney 10 days ago and have followed a structured training schedule since the Glasgow game on 19th January.”
With the clubs international contingent rested, it gives a chance to young hopeful Liam, Roberts. Roberts, 19, is a student at Cardiff University and has been a regular member of the Cardiff U-21 squad this season.
“He’s played very well for our U-21 side, and also for the National side, he scored against Ireland, and he scored a nice try again last weekend [against France]. He came on against Rumney, he performed well in that game, so we’d like to give him this opportunity.” Said Cardiff coach Geraint John.
Cardiff last faced Aberavon in 1999, winning a tight game by 20-12 Only a last minute breakaway try from Gareth Thomas spared Cardiff blushes.
Cardiff Squad to face Aberavon:
Rhys Williams;Liam Roberts, Matt Allen, Pieter Muller (captain), Anthony Sullivan:Nick Robinson, Ryan Powell;Peter Rogers, Jonathan Humphries, Kenneth Fourie, Adam Jones, John Tait, Francois Mounier, Emyr Lewis, Rob Applpeyard
Replacements: Gary Powell, Andrew Lewis, Craig Quinnell, Dan McShane, Andy Booth, Iestyn Harris, Craig Morgan

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners