Jump to main content

Wales U16 Girls Rugby Squad Released

Wales U16 Girls Rugby Squad Released

This is the second season the WRU have run a squad at this age group and with many of last seasons squad having graduated through to the U19’s already, the future of girls rugby in Wales looks bright.
Several players are in the squad for the second successive season including Michaela Reed from Morriston, Ceri Ogwen Jones from Bethesda and Jenna Gregg from Cwmbran.
There are many new faces in the squad with North Wales having 8 representatives, an indication of the growing strength of the game in this area. Players who have particularly impressed over the last few months are newcomers Rachel Davies from Builth Wells at full back, No 8 Laura Ogden from Llantwit Fardre and prop Rhian Breese from Lampeter.
The first game for this squad is against Morriston RFC on March 31st to celebrate the clubs 125th anniversary. The lack of opposition within fellow Home Nations means that the focus of this squad is on increasing skill and fitness levels as well as introducing the girls to all aspects of rugby both on and off the pitch including weight training, nutrition and lifestyle management.
Director of Rugby Richard Hodges said, ” We are particularly impressed with this group of players. They are a lot stronger than last years squad which shows how the game has grown over the last 12 months. Their high skill levels are a match for some senior players and it is these that we will look to develop further over the next few months.”

Share this page:

Rachel Davies – Builth Wells
Susan Bagnall – Denbigh
Eulon Davies – Llandeilo
Catrin Evison – Caernarfon
Hannah Szigetvari – Llantwit Fardre
Louisa Riddick – Bridgend
Jenna Gregg – Cwmbran
Clare Morgan – Morriston
Meriel Edwards – Bethesda
Amy Baker – Cwmbran
Mari Tomas – Denbigh
Rhian Bowden – Llantwit Fardre
Sioned Evans – Bala
Michaela Reed – Morriston
Gemma Williams – Llantwit Fardre
Amy Day – Llantwit Fardre
Beth Gallacher – Morriston
Rachel Poolman – Llanelli Wands
Rhian Davies – Nant Conwy
Roxanne Lewis – Llandaff North
Rhian Breese – Lampeter
Caryl Thomas – Llandeilo
Tanya Davies – Cwmbran
Andrea Williams – Caernarfon
Clare Thomas – Llandeilo
Sophie Williams – Camberley
Ceri Jones – Bethesda
Hannah Torangi – Llantwit Fardre
Stephanie Dew – Morriston
Branwen Scrivens – Cwmbran
Helen Sharp – Waunarlwydd
Laura Ogden – Llantwit Fardre
Rhiannon Evans – Anstey

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners