Jump to main content

Taylor Plays For Wales As England Pick New Half-backs

Taylor Plays For Wales As England Pick New Half-backs

Rugby League converts Phil Jones and Wes Davies could find themselves in opposition when England A meet Wales A at Bristol’s Ashotn Gate on Friday, 22 March (kick-off 7.30 pm).
The former Wigan team mates, who are currently playing for Orrell, will be on other sides of the field as Jones makes his England A debut at outside half and Davies makes the wales replacements bench for the first time.
The grandson of the great Wigan and Great Britain rugby league wing Billy Boston, Davies is already a Welsh rugby league international and has been playing at full back for Orrell.
Swansea and Lions centre Mark Taylor finds himself thrust back into the international arena after only one game for his club following almost eight months on the sideline after a knee operation.
He forms a new centre partnership with Pontypridd’s John Bryant, with Newport’s Matthew Watkins switching to the left wing.
Wales have lost Gareth Thomas and Gareth Llewellyn to the senior Wales side, while England coach Ged Glynn has had NEC Harlequins scrum half Nick Duncombe given to him to fill the No 9 jersey for the first time.
While England are seeking their first win in this season’s Six Nations A Championship after a draw in Scotland and defeats at the hands of Ireland and France.
Wales, on the other hand, have recovered from their eight try beating in Ireland to beat both France and Italy at home.
While Duncombe and Jones will form a new half-back partnership for England, Glynn has also given Leeds Tykes wing Dan Scarbrough a first cap on the left wing.
ENGLAND A (v Wales A)
Paul Sampson (London Wasps); Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Fraser Waters (London Wasps), Ben Johnston (Saracens), Dan Scarbrough (Leeds Tykes); Phil Jones (Orrell), Nick Duncombe (NEC Harlequins); Trevor Woodman (Gloucester)
, Mark Regan (Bath), Ricky Nebbett (Leicester Tigers), Tom Palmer (Leeds Tykes), Steve Borthwick (Bath, captain), Will Johnson (Leicester Tigers), James Forrester (Gloucester), Adam Balding (Leicester Tigers) Replacements: (from) Nick Walshe (Saracens), Andy Goode (Leicester Tigers), Phil Christophers (Bristol Shoguns), Steve Booth (Leicester Tigers), Chris Fortey (Gloucester), Mike Shelley (Leeds Tykes), Mark Cornwell (Gloucester), Paul Gustard (London Irish)
Adrian Durston (Bridgend); Gareth Wyatt(Pontypridd), Mark Taylor (Swansea),
John Bryant (Pontypridd), Matthew Watkins (Newport); Lee Jarvis (Neath),
Andy Moore (Neath); Duncan Jones (Neath), Mefin Davies (Pontypridd), Andrew Millward (Neath), Robert Sidoli(Pontypridd), Neil Edwards (Ebbw Vale),
Michael Owen (Pontypridd), Brett Sinkinson (Neath), Nathan Bonner Evans(Neath)
Replacements: Gareth Williams (Bridgend), Martyn Madden (Llanelli),
Vernon Cooper (Llanelli), Garvin Thomas(Bath), Ryan Powell (Cardiff), Craig Warlow (Bridgend)/Ceri Sweeney (Pontypridd), Wes Davies (Orrell).

Share this page:

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners