Jump to main content

Thomas And Wyatt Recalled For Twickenham,

Thomas And Wyatt Recalled For Twickenham,

Captain Scott Quinnell will become only the 12th player to win 50 caps for Wales when he leads Wales against England in the Lloyds TSB Six Nations Championship match at Twickenham on Saturday (kick-off 2.30 pm)
The Llanelli captain and No 8, who will be skippering his country for the seventh time, will join Neil Jenkins, Ieuan Evans, Gareth Llewellyn, Garin Jenkins, Gareth Thomas, Rob Howley, JPR Williams, Robert Jones, Gareth Edwards, Scott Gibbs and David Young in the elite ’50 club’.
“One of my ambitions was to reach 50 caps for my country,” said 29-year-old Quinnell.
“It is an exclusive club with some great players and it is something I want to do.”
Wales Coach Steve Hansen has made two changes from the side who beat Italy 44-20 at the Millennium Stadium 18 days ago.
Gareth Thomas is recalled to play in the centre, the Bridgend captain winning his 57th cap as he forms a new midfield partnership with Newport Rugby’s Andy Marinos. Thomas comes in for Tom Shanklin.
And in the pack, Llanelli lock Chris Wyatt returns ahead of Ian Gough. Wyatt came on as a replacement against Italy having been injured early on in the opening match of the championship against Ireland in Dublin.
Quinnell, Thomas, Wyatt and scrum half Rob Howley are the only survivors from the starting line-up at Twickenham two years ago.
“After going so close against France, the victory over Italy gave us renewed confidence,” said coach Hansen.
“However, England will be smarting from their defeat by France in Paris and we know we face a tough test at Twickenham on Saturday.”
With slight injury worries hanging over both Gough and Cardiff utility back Rhys Williams, Hansen has put Gareth Llewellyn and Tom Shanklin on stand-by.
WALES (v England)
Kevin Morgan (Swansea); Dafydd James (Bridgend), Gareth Thomas (Bridgend), Andy Marinos (Newport Rugby), Craig Morgan (Cardiff); Stephen Jones (Llanelli), Rob Howley (Cardiff); Iestyn Thomas (Ebbw Vale), Robin McBryde (Llanelli), Chris Anthony (Newport Rugby), Andy Moore (Swansea), Chris Wyatt (Llanelli), Nathan Budgett (Bridgend), Martyn Williams (Cardiff), Scott Quinnell (Llanelli, captain)
Replacements: Barry Williams (Neath), Spencer John (Cardiff), Ian Gough (Newport Rugby)/Gareth Llewellyn (Neath), Colin Charvis (Swansea), Dwayne Peel (Llanelli), Iestyn Harris (Cardiff), Rhys Williams (Cardiff)/Tom Shanklin (Saracens)

Share this page:

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners