Jump to main content

Wales 7s Celebrate Bowl Success

Wales 7s Celebrate Bowl Success

After the disappointment of being knocked out of the Cup by Scotland on Day 1(17-12)and of losing to the Springboks(22-12), the Wales team went on to win the Bowl on Day 2 after a gutsy performance against Japan.
Tied 31-31 after 20 minutes of play, Wales’ victory was secured during the ‘sudden death’ extra time as Neil McKim went over with a crucial match winning try. Gareth Williams, Craig Richards (2) and Gareth Swales were the other try scorers against Japan, Swales also kicking three conversions.
Coach Colin Hillman was delighted with the team performance, “I’m so pleased for the boys. They’ve made tremendous progress this week and fully deserve their win.”
“We will have the same squad for the Malaysia Sevens next weekend and as a result of our win today we should be more confident for the Kuala Lumpur tournament.”
“It was a great final which could have gone either way. Japan are a good side and have beaten us before. We had a good start, then went behind and hit back”.

Share this page:

Don’t forget, the IRB World 7s Series will soon arrive in our back yard for its final stage so for a chance to see all the World 7s stars in action, come along to the Emirates Airline Cardiff 7s at the Millennium Stadium on Friday 31st May (1-9) and Saturday 1st June (12-6).
Tickets for Day 1:£10, £5 and £2.50 (U16s)
Tickets for Day 2: same price.
Buy online from the homepage link, ring 08705 582582 or call in to Millennium Stadium Ticket Office 98 St Mary Street, Cardiff.

Singapore 7s
Day One results:
Pool A:New Zealand 26 Japan 7
Samoa 43 Singapore 7
New Zealand 59 Singapore 7
Samoa 45 Japan 0
Japan 48 Singapore 0
New Zealand 17 Samoa 17
Pool B:Fiji 45 South Korea 0
Australia 29 Malaysia 5
Fiji 43 Malaysia 5
Australia 33 South Korea 7
South Korea 12 Malaysia 21
Fiji 12 Australia 10
Pool C:South Africa 33 Scotland 14
Wales 46 Thailand 0
South Africa 57 Thailand 7
Wales 12 Scotland 17
Scotland 36 Thailand 10
South Africa 22 Wales 12
Pool D:England 31 Canada 0
Argentina 26 Chinese Taipei 10
England 28 Chinese Taipei 7
Argentina 19 Canada 5
Canada 40 Chinese Taipei 12
England 14 Argentina 19

Day Two
Cup final:
New Zealand 21 Argentina 17.
Argentina 22 Australia 19
New Zealand 19 England 10
Australia 24 Samoa 5
Argentina 31 Scotland 7
England 15 South Africa 7
New Zealand 20 Fiji 7
Plate final:
Fiji 64 Samoa 5
Samoa 29 Scotland 12
Fiji 27 South Africa 12
Bowl final:
Wales 36 Japan 31
Semi-finals: Japan 14 Canada 5
Wales 38 Singapore 0
Quarter-finals: Japan 14 Korea 12
Canada 31 Thailand 12
Wales 33 Chinese Taipei 14
Singapore 12 Malaysia 5
Shield final:
Korea 31 Chinese Taipei 27
Semi-finals: Korea 35 Thailand 5
Chinese Taipei 42 Malaysia 0

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners