Jump to main content

Kiwis Secure Fifth Title

Kiwis Secure Fifth Title

After Round 9 of the tournament, New Zealand now have an unbeatable 46-point lead with two legs to go, leaving contenders South Africa, Fiji or England without a chance of the series title. The Kiwis defeated South Africa 29-5 in the finals at the Petaling Jaya Stadium.
As it stands, New Zealand have 158 points, South Africa 112, followed by Fiji (106), England (98), Australia (82), Samoa (80) and Argentina (80).
Meanwhile the Welsh team gave another impressive performance going through to the Plate semi finals.Showing improvement from a week ago, when the Welsh team won the Bowl competition in Singapore, Wales came close to a famous victory in Malaysia this weekend, ending up a win away from the semi-finals.
On Day One, Wales had outshone Malaysia 43-5, comfortably beaten Canada 21-7, tries coming from Gareth Gravell, Rhys Jones and Liam Roberts, which drew them against New Zealand in a Pool A decider. The number one Kiwi 7s side proved too much for the Welsh who lost 41-5 but the strength of their defensive effort won them compliments from their 7s counterparts. South African coach Chester Williams said “Wales probably have the best organised defence in the competition, but they lack conditioning”.
Wales Coach Colin Hillman agreed with Williams but added “The leading nations all have settled squads whereas the demands of domestic competition in Wales means that I am faced with a huge turnover of players”.
“But people like Dunvant’s Anthony Rees and UWIC’s Rhys Jones, newcomers to the squad, and two who featured prominently in Malaysia, will certainly have benefited from the experience.”

Share this page:

Don’t forget, for a chance to see World Class 7s players in action, come along to the Emirates Airline Cardiff 7s on Friday 31st May 1-9pm and Saturday 1st June 12-6pm.
Ticket prices: Day 1: £10, £5, £2.50 (U16s), Day 2: Same prices
Buy online, visit the Millennium Stadium Ticket Office at 98 St Mary Street, Cardiff or call 08705 582 582 before the 17th May to get your Early Booking Bonus!

Results from Day Two:
Cup final:
New Zealand 29 South Africa 5
Plate final:
England 43 Argentina 7
Bowl final:
Scotland 41 Korea 12
Shield final:
Japan 24 Malaysia 15
Cup semi-finals:
New Zealand 19 Australia 14
South Africa 15 Fiji 10
Plate semi-finals:
Samoa 10 Argentina 15
England 22 Wales 5
Bowl semi-finals:
Canada 24 Korea 26
Taiwan 7 Scotland 14
Shield semi-finals:
Singapore 0 Japan 31
Thailand 21 Malaysia 24
Cup quarter-final:
New Zealand 12 Samoa 0
Australia 17 Argentina 7
South Africa 19 England 0
Fiji 14 Wales 12
Bowl quarter-final:
Canada 24 Singapore 10
Japan 17 Korea 24
Taiwan 28 Thailand 12
Scotland 33 Malaysia 5

Results from Day One:
Pool A:
New Zealand 38 Canada 5
Wales 43 Malaysia 5
New Zealand 43 Malaysia 0
Wales 21 Canada 7
Canada 24 Malaysia 5
New Zealand 24 Wales 5
Pool B:
Fiji 24 Scotland 0
Samoa 57 Singapore 0
Fiji 48 Singapore 0
Samoa 12 Scotland 12
Scotland 33 Singapore 0
Fiji 24 Samoa 7
Pool C:
South Africa 41 South Korea 5
Argentina 45 Taiwan 7
South Africa 31 Taiwan 12
Argentina 27 South Korea 5
South Korea 12 Taiwan 19
South Africa 12 Argentina 0
Pool D:
England 31 Japan 0
Australia 40 Thailand 5
England 34 Thailand 0
Australia 26 Japan 7
Japan 31 Thailand 5
England 7 Australia 14

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners