Jump to main content

Lam Back To Inflict More Damage

Lam Back To Inflict More Damage

Samoan international Pat Lam will skipper a Barbarians squad containing 16 Test players from six different countries when they play Wales in an uncapped match at the Millennium Stadium on Wednesday, 29 May (kick-off 7.15 pm).
There are four South African Springboks, headed by Newport bound Percy Montgomery, along with five New Zealand All Blacks, two Argentine Pumas, Scotsman Dodie Weir, Australian Wallaby Jim Williams, former French captain Raphael Ibanez and England’s Jamie Noon.
It will be a quickfire return to the Millennium Stadium for Munster back row man Williams, who played in last weekend’s Heineken Cup final.
While he ended on the losing side, Leicester Tigers centre Ollie Smith will no doubt have better memoreis of the 15-9 victory his side posted over the Irishmen to retain the Heineken Cup.
Springbok outside half Bram van Straaten, who killed off Welsh hopes in last years game with a last gasp conversion off the touchline, is returning to haunt the home side. Front row men Raphael Ibanez and Mauricio Reggiardo have also been winners over Wales at the Millennium Stadium already this season.
Percy Montgomery (South Africa); Thinus Delport (South Africa), Ollie Smith (Leicester), Peta Alatini (New Zealand), Jamie Noon (England); Braam van Straaten (South Africa), Mark Robinson (New Zealand); Craig Dowd (New Zealand), Raphael Ibanez (France), Mauricio Reggiardo (Argentina), Doddie Weir (Scotland), Ryan Strudwick (London Irish), Pat Lam (Samoa, captain), Josh Kronfeld (New Zealand), Jim Williams (Australia).
Replacements: Mauro Ledesma (Argentina), Adrian Garvey (South Africa), Kieran Roche (Saracens), Kris Chesney (Saracens), Ofisa Tonu’u (New Zealand), Kevin Sorrell (Saracens), Liam Botham (Newcastle)

Share this page:

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners