Jump to main content

Wales Crowned World Champions!

Wales Crowned World Champions!

Wales crowned world champs

Share this page:

New Zealand 14-21 Wales

Wales were crowned world champions at the inaugural Deaf Rugby Union World Cup.

A last minute try snuffed out a late New Zealand comeback in Saturday’s final at Eden Park, Auckland.

Profoundly deaf winger Nigel Evans, 21, made a big impression, breaking the Kiwi defence to run in a 40-metre try.

“This will be a big shot in the arm for Welsh rugby,” said ecstatic coach Neville Roberts.

Wales ran in seven tries in beating a Maori and Pacific Islands team 41-10 to book their place in the final.

The Kiwis got the better of neighbours Australia 23-16.

Richard Jones (Hon Secretary Wales Deaf Rugby Union) said “It was a hard match and the Kiwis never gave up”

The scoring sequence was as follows:

3-0, 6-0, 11-0 (half time) 14-0, 14-7, 21-7, 21-14.

The scorers:

For New Zealand:
Tries: R Cole, A Phillips
Cons: O Finaulangi 2

For Wales:
Tries: D Jones, N Francis, P Watts
Cons: R Evans 2
Pens: R Evans
DGs: P Watts, Withey

The win caps a fine tournament for Wales, following wins over the likes of Fiji and Australia.

The next Deaf Rugby World Championship will be in Cardiff in July 2005.

Well done Boys.

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners