Jump to main content

Women Announce Squad For Autumn Build Up

Women Announce Squad For Autumn Build Up

The Welsh Womens Rugby Union are pleased to announce their National Squad for the autumn build up to next years Six Nations programme.

Share this page:

New coaches Phil John and Alun Harries have spent the last six weeks watching the players perform in the ‘Super League’ and have summoned 38 players to this weekend’s training.

With Wales having six retirements after last seasons World Cup, including world record cap holder Liza Burgess, John has called up four of last seasons U19 squad, namely prop Ruth Copeland (Pontypridd), full back Ellen Evans (North Wales), lock Becky Dando (UWIC) and flanker Eirlys Lougher (Llanelli.)

Experience comes in the form of SAS ‘Are you tough enough’ finalist Louise Rickard, hooker Jamie Kift and flanker Kylie Wilson whilst North Walian sisters Rachel and Nicola Davies make their first appearance at this level.

Fellow new faces include flanker Esther Eckley (Pontypridd), scrum half Kirsty Hudson (Swansea) and hooker Dominique Attwood (Llanelli).

Full back Non Evans (Llanelli) returns after the Commonwealth Games as Wales plan for the Six Nations with autumn warm up games against the British Army and the British Police.

Squad :: Backs

Gemma Allen – Pontypridd, Hayley Baxter – UWIC, Rachel Davies – North Wales, Nicola Davies – North Wales, Non Evans – Llanelli, Ellen Evans – North Wales, Clare Flowers – Pontypridd, Kirsty Hudson – Swansea, Kerry Jenkins – UWIC, Lowri Jones – North Wales, Karen Mayze – Llanelli, Elaine Radcliffe – UWIC, Louise Rickard – Newport, Lowena Sandercock – Pontypridd, Stacey Saunders – Pontypridd, Awen Thomas – Llanelli, Naomi Thomas – UWIC, Cath Walkley – Llanelli, Rhian Williams – Swansea, Rhian Wilmott – UWIC


Dominique Attwood-Llanelli, Melissa Berry – Swansea, Amy Broadstock – Pontypridd, Ruth Copeland – Pontypridd, Becky Dando – UWIC, Jenny Davies – UWIC, April Dent – Pontypridd, Esther Eckley – Pontypridd, Catrin Edwards – UWIC, Helen Edwards – Llanelli, Kath Foale – Newport, Jamie Kift – Pontypridd, Kath Lenaghan – Swansea, Eirlys Lougher – Llanelli, Dawn Mason – Newport, Sam Mason – UWIC, Julia Newton – Pontypridd, Ayla Rose – UWIC, Sian Thomas – Llanelli, Kylie Wilson – North Wales,

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners