Jump to main content

Hansen Hands Jones Debut Chance

Hansen Hands Jones Debut Chance

Dafydd Jones will become the 165th Scarlet to wear the Welsh jersey when he wins his first cap against Fiji in the BT Autumn International Series at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 4.30 pm).

Share this page:

The 23-year-old Llanelli back row forward is among seven changes, one positional, from the side that beat Romania 40-3 in Wrexham last Friday for the opening clash in the BT Autumn International Series at the Millennium Stadium.

Jones is in his third season at Stradey Park and has already won three Wales A cap, played for the Wales Sevens and toured with the Wales Development Squad in Canada.

The majority of the changes made by the Wales coach Steve Hansen come in the pack, where Iestyn Thomas and Ben Evans come in at prop in the front row, Gareth Llewellyn replaces Steve Williams in the second row and it is all change in the back row.

**Click here to buy tickets for the BT Autumn International Series

Skipper Colin Charvis will switch from No 7 to No 8, new cap Jones will wear No 6 and the Cardiff captain Martyn Williams will take over at No 7.

The only change behind the scrum is at outside half, where Llanelli’s Stephen Jones replaces Neil Jenkins.

Jones is one of six players in the Welsh Squad not used in Wrexham who has been brought into the 22 to face the Fijians. Fellow forwards Thomas and Williams and replacements Richard Parks, Iestyn Harris and Jamie Robinson.

**Click here for player profiles

The game will see Sonny Parker, Mefin Davies, Robert Sidoli and Jones make their debuts at the Millennium Stadium in a Welsh jersey.

WALES: Rhys Williams (Cardiff); Mark Jones (Llanelli), Tom Shanklin (Saracens), Sonny Parker (Pontypridd), Gareth Thomas (Bridgend); Stephen Jones (Llanelli), Dwayne Peel (Llanelli); Iestyn Thomas (Llanelli), Mefin Davies (Pontypridd), Ben Evans (Swansea), Robert Sidoli (Pontypridd), Gareth Llewellyn (Neath), Dafydd Jones (Llanelli), Martyn Williams (Cardiff), Colin Charvis (Swansea, captain).

Replacements: Andrew Lewis (Cardiff), Martyn Madden (Llanelli), Steve Williams (Northampton Saints), Richard Parks (Pontypridd), Ryan Powell (Cardiff), Iestyn Harris (Cardiff), Jamie Robinson (Cardiff).

Related stories:

Fiji announce fifteen

Your Wales XV

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners