Jump to main content

Principality Cup Round Five Draw

Principality Cup Round Five Draw

Former cup winners Pontypool were one of a dozen Lloyds TSB First Division clubs to earn a home draw in the fifth round of the Principality Cup last night (Tuesday, 3 December).
The 1983 champions, current leaders of the First Division were drawn against Cwmavon, the Division Two side who were taken into extra time before beating Newcastle Emlyn in the third round.
There are five all-First Division clashes with local derbies between Blackwood and Cross Keys and Llanharan against Tondu. The other games see Treorchy tackle Glamorgan Wanderers and Tredegar host Bedwas.
There were three teams from Division Five Central in the draw and at least one of them will make it through to the sixth round. While the league leaders Banwen were drawn away at First Division Whitland, Nantymoel will face Taffs Well.
Nantymoel’s route to the fifth round has been fraught with tension. They beat Cwmllynfell on try count at the end of a 14-14 draw in round two and then overcame Division Two side Dunvant in extra time in round three.
Taffs Well, meanwhile, who are six places behind their hosts in the league, will be facing their fourth away trip of the campaign.
Division Three East leaders Penygraig picked up a plum home draw against First Division Narberth, while Brynmawr and Merthyr, both of Division Two, have to travel to First Division grounds to face Carmarthen Quins and Beddau respectively. Hirwaun host Maesteg, who are celebrating their 125th anniversary, in an all-Division Two match-up.
Another team who have come through from the Preliminary Round, Division Four East club Pill Harriers, have to travel to face the team currently in second place in the First Division, Llandovery.
Twice finalists Aberavon, of Division One, host Abertillery.
PRINCIPALITY CUP ROUND FIVE DRAW (matches to be played on Saturday, 21 November)
Aberavon v Abertillery; Beddau v Merthyr; Blackwood v Cross Keys; Bonymaen v Llangennech; Carmarthen Quins v Brynmawr; Hirwaun v Maesteg; Llandovery v Pill Harriers; Llanharan v Tondu; Nantymoel v Taffs Well; Newbridge v Rumney; Penygraig v Narberth; Pontypool v Cwmavon; Tredegar v Bedwas; Treorchy v Glamorgan Wanderers; Whitland v Banwen.

Share this page:

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners