Jump to main content

Heineken Cup Team News

Heineken Cup Team News

Neath coach Lyn Jones has rung the changes as he tries to forget last weekend’s shock loss to Amatori & Calvisano.
Jones has made wholesale changes to his starting lineup for Saturday’s return Heineken Cup match at the Gnoll, with almost the entire forward pack paying the price for the 38-29 loss that knocked the All Blacks out of quarter-final contention.
Centre Allan Bateman and backrower Rowland Phillips – at the 37 the oldest players in the Heineken Cup – have been dropped from the 22, while 34-year-old scrum-half Andy Moore is on the bench.
“This weekend gives us an immediate opportunity to shed some of the memories of last week’s match,” Jones admitted.
“It will haunt us for some time but we have to take the chance to make up on lost ground and look positively towards the rest of the season.”
In the pack, Jones has named a new frontrow – all with the same surname as their coach. Loosehead prop Duncan Jones comes in for Paul James, Steve Jones is the new hooker and Adam Jones takes over the tighthead duties.
Steve Martin and captain Gareth Llewellyn come into the second row, while Steve Tandy and Nathan Bonner-Evans replace Alfie Mocelutu and Phillips. Flanker Brett Sinkinson is the only survivor from last weekend’s surviving pack.
Amatori coach Gilbert Doucet has brought Italian international Giovanni Raineri into the centres, while tighthead prop Salvatore Perugini gets a start.

Share this page:

Neath: A Durston; K James, J Storey, D Tieuti, G Morris; L Jarvis, P Horgan; D Jones, S Jones,A Jones, S Martin, G Llewellyn (capt), S Tandy, B Sinkinson, N Bonner-Evans.
Replacements: S Connor, A Moore, P James, B Williams, A Millward, A Newman, A Mocelutu.

Amatori & Calvisano: M Ravazzolo; A Vodo, C Zanoletti, G Raineri, E Mulieri; V Zullo, E Trecate; G de Carli, G Intoppa, S Perugini, L Mastrodomenico, W Boardman, R Mandelli, A de Rossi, C Roux
Replacements: D Davo, G Bocca, J Purll, F Letinic, P Griffen, S Varrella, F Merli.


Swansea keep faith with skipper Darren Morris, for the return match against Bristol. Under the leadership of the Wales international prop, Swansea won their first Heineken Cup game in two years as they beat the Shoguns 26-19 at St. Helens.

Swansea: S Payne; M Robinson, M Taylor, S Gibbs, R Rees; G henson, S Cordingley; D Morris (capt), C Balshen, B Evans, J Slade, A farley, D Thomas, C Charvis, J Bater Replacements: Rhodri Jones, A Thomas, S Winn, D Dorsey, R Francis, J Thomas, D Colclough/C Wells

Bristol Shoguns: S Drahm; D Rees, A Higgins, D Gibson, P Christophers; F Contepomi, A Pichot; D Crompton/J White/A Sheridan, P Johnstone, D Crompton/J White/A Sheridan, G Archer/S Morgan, A Brown, R Oakley/R Beattie, B Sturnham/M Salter

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners