Jump to main content

Welsh Premiership Team News

Welsh Premiership Team News

Cardiff coach Dai Young has made 10 changes to the side that lost 12-10 to Pontypridd last weekend for their Welsh Premiership meeting with Ebbw Vale at Cardiff Arms Park. Only Matt Allen and Anthony Sullivan remain amongst the backline, with captain Martyn Williams at No.7 and Emyr Lewis continuing at No.8. Dean Dewdney makes his competitive debut.

Share this page:

Ebbw Vale will go into this match with a spring in their step, having dispatched with Llanelli 20-8 in their Welsh Premiership opener. Hooker Leyton Phillips will lead out the side.

Meanwhile Bridgend, who will be looking to build on their 13-12 win over Newport last weekend, have named a side showing four changes for their clash with Caerphilly at the Brewery Field.

The changes are all in the pack, Nathan Budgett and Ryan Jones form a new-look second row duo, while Chris Horsman comes in at tighthead and Maama Molitika starts at No.6.

Caerphilly went down 20-19 to Swansea last week, are still winless with three defeats from three games played so far in this competition.

Cardiff: 15 Donavan van Vuuren, 14 Anthony Sullivan, 13 Nick Walne, 12 Matt Allen, 11 Dean Dewdney, 10 Nick Robinson, 9 Ryan Powell, 8 Emyr Lewis, 7 Martyn Williams (captain), 6 Dan McShane, 5 John Tait, 4 Adam Jones, 3 Kenneth Fourie, 2 Greg Woods, 1 Tim Payne.
Replacements: 16 John Yapp, 17 Lewis Collins, 18 Luke Tait, 19 Dan Baugh, 20 Richard Smith, 21 Iestyn Harris, 22 Rhys Williams.

Ebbw Vale: 15 Richard Davies, 14 Nick Wakley, 13 Rhys Shorney, 12 Ed Binham, 11 Andrew Bevan, 10 Scott Mitchell, 9 Bryan Shelbourne, 8 Kati Tuipolotu, 7 Rhys Williams, 6 Chay Billen, 5 Neil Edwards, 4 Ockert Booyse, 3 Martin Jones, 2 Leyton Phillips (captain), 1 Adam Black.
Replacements: 16 Damien Penisini, 17 Jonathan Evans, 18 Peter Sidoli, 19 Will Thomas, 20 Tyron Morris/Paul Williams, 21 Mark Meenan, 22 Aaron Takarangi.

Bridgend: 15 G Cull, 14 A Havili, 13 D Bishop, 12 G Thomas (captain), 11 R Mustoe, 10 S Mannix, 9 H Harries, 8 C Harris, 7 R Bryan, 6 M Molitika, 5 N Budgett, 4 R Jones, 3 C Horsman, 2 G Williams, 1 P Booth.
Replacements: 16 B Phillips, 17 C Loader, 18 G Thomas, 19 O Lloyd, 20 D Jones, 21 C Warlow, 22 S Martens.

Caerphilly: TBC.

Both matches Kick-off at 14.30 GMT

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners