Jump to main content

Cardiff Make Five Changes For Ulster

Cardiff Make Five Changes For Ulster

This could have been a warm-up for a possible Celtic League final appearance between these two teams but they both fell at the semi-final hurdle last weekend. Ulster had prop Justin Fitzpatrick sent off in their 42-10 defeat at Munster, while Cardiff lost prop Ken Fourie with a leg injury in their 32-10 reverse at Neath.

Share this page:

The Blue and Blacks have yet to win a Heineken Cup match this season and will want to improve on their 31-0 home defeat by Northampton in the last round. Ulster still harbour hopes of scrambling a place in the last eight but will have to make it third time lucky at the Arms Park having lost there in the Heineken Cup in 1995 (46-6) and 2000 (42-16).

David Young has made five changes, one positional, since last weekend’s defeat to Neath. Anthony Sullivan replaces Craig Morgan on the left wing and it is all change at half-back with Nick Robinson and Ryan Powell have won selection ahead of Iestyn Harris and Richard Smith.

In the pack Tim Payne switches to tight-head and Peter Rogers returns as loose-head prop. With John Yapp and Young among the replacements Rogers will also be back-up as hooker.

Unavailable for selection through injury were Andrew Lewis, Kenneth Fourie, Rob Appleyard and Pieter Muller.

Meanwhile Neath are at home to Beziers on Saturday.

Heineken Cup teams

Neath: A Durston; G Morris, J Storey, D Tieuti, S Williams L Jarvis, A Moore; D Jones, B Williams, A Jones, G Llewellyn (capt), A Newman, A Mocelutu, S Tandy, R Phillips.
Replacements: A Bateman, S Connor, P James, A Matthews, Lyndon Bateman.

Cardiff: Rhys Williams; Nick Walne, Jamie Robinson, Matt Allen, Anthony Sullivan; Nick Robinson, Ryan Powell; Peter Rogers, Greg Woods, Tim Payne, Heino Senekal, John Tait, Dan Baugh, Emyr Lewis, Martyn Williams (captain)

Replacements: John Yapp, David

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners