Jump to main content

Tenby United scratch seven-year itch to win Pembrokeshire Cup again

Tenby United scratch seven-year itch to win Pembrokeshire Cup again

Man of the Match Max Brindley scores Tenby United's fourth try in the Pembrokeshire Cup final

Tenby United crowned their fine season by adding the Pembrokeshire Cup to their promotion from Division 2 West after beating Aberaeron 37-27 in the final at Crymych RFC.

Share this page:

It was the first time since 2017 that Tenby had managed to lift the cup. Despite taking a comfortable lead with three first half tries they were never allowed to rest by their plucky rivals.

“Aberaeron certainly played their part in a great occasion. They just wouldn’t give in and they scored in the last play of the game,” said Tenby coach Jonathan Evans.

“We were relieved and absolutely delighted to have won the cup again. Gaining promotion and reaching the final were the twin targets at the start of the season – I didn’t want to put my neck on the line by saying we should win the cup.

“As the season progressed, we could see we were going to have a successful campaign, although it took us a while to deliver promotion back to Division 1 West.”

While Tenby were able to notch their 34th cup win, it was a first appearance at this stage for Aberaeron, who just missed out on promotion after finishing second in Division West 3A.

Tenby dictated the first half to open up what proved to be an unassailable advantage at the break. They led 20-3 thanks to tries from No 8 Don Colley, his 18th of the season, and skipper Luke Dedman, while Lloyd Thomas converted both and added two penalties.

The only points from the Seagulls in the opening 40 came in the shape of a penalty from Rhodri Williams. He added a second at the start of the second half before Tenby struck again.

This time it was replacement scrum half Cam Broadhurst who burst through to the posts to notch his side’s third try. Thomas once again added the extras.

Aberaeron piled on the pressure in the second half and forced Tenby to go down to 14-man when Dan Colley picked up two yellow cards. They picked up a penalty try and scored again before the end when Rhys Jones powered over and then flanker Hefin Jenkins crossed.

In between, Max Brindley notched a fourth try for Tenby and Thomas took his match tally up to 17 points with another conversion.

Scorers: Tenby United: Tries: Don Colley, Luke Dedman, Cam Broadhurst, Max Brindley; Cons: Lloyd Thomas 4; Pens: Lloyd Thomas 3. Aberaeron: Tries: Pen Try, Rhys Jones, Hefin Jenkins; Cons: Rhodri Jenkins 2; Pens: Rhodri Jenkins 2

Aberaeron: Morgan Llewellyn (captain); Matthew Harries, Dyfrig Dafis, Rhodri Jenkins, Steff DJ Jones; Steffan Rees, Rhodri Thomas; Ceri Davies, Ryan Williams, Alex Danton, Llyr Davies, Bleddyn Thomas, Osian Davies, Hefin Williams, Will James
Reps: Rhys Owens, Owain Wozencroft, Richard Francis, Bobby Jones, Gethin Dafis, Ollie Sawyer, Ifan Davies

Tenby United: Gwion Jones: Max Brindley, Jack Gooding, Luke Waygood, Luke Hartland; Lloyd Thomas, Tom Lewis; Ethan Morgan, Dan Allen, Rob Luly, Tom Barrass, Luke Dedman (captain), Hywel Baker, Jack Brown, Dan Colley
Reps: Kyle Rossiter, Liam Pugh, Jake Roberts, Jack Broadhurst, Cam Broadhurst Harry Rossiter, Brad Cramb, James Morgan, Fletcher Broadhurst.

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners